Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_5924

“A Starry Morning” – I captured this photograph 35 minutes before the sunrise in Unity, Maine.

I love astrophotography and I as noted in previous posts I can’t wait for spring. This image is actually one of my first photographs of the stars. I was visiting my in-laws for Christmas (2014) and for a few days I tried to take some pictures of the Milky Way. But, it was the wrong time of the year for Milky Way shots – I had a lot to learn!

But, I did find a nice spot thanks to the work of Mike Taylor, a Maine-based astrophotographer who’s work is just amazing. One of his photo’s of the Aurora Borealis was captured in the Unity Pond.

Unity is pretty close to Bangor so I decided to explore the area. I left my in-laws’ house at 3:00am and I took photos around the towns of Brooks and Unity. It was a night of experimentation, which means that I made a ton of mistakes.

After braving the cold temperatures and driving around looking for places to photograph – another mistake in my part – I saw the entrance to Unity Pond and I decided to check it out.

Here is one of the photos. I love the composition, but I wished I had captured this photo a few hours earlier. Oh well, I figure this is just another excuse to revisit this place.

Camera: Canon 6D

Lens: EF 24-105mm f 4 L

Focal Length: 24mm

Aperture: f 4

Shutter: 20 seconds

ISO: 12,800